Coconut great addition to food plan

Since January 16th I have been part of a Paleo Challenge with CrossFit Vero Beach. I eat according to the Paleo diet but had been giving myself way too many treats over the holiday.  It was time to record what I was eating everyday, discover new, healthy alternatives for a snack and get creative with my meals.  Coconut has been one of the best foods added into my meal plans.  I bought a coconut and sliced it up. Now I munch on Coconut meat. It fills me up and has so many  nutritional benefits.  I am cooking in coconut oil as well. Joseph Mercola, D.O. says coconut oil is the healthiest oil you can use. The weight and inches I put on over the holidays are coming off. My clothes fit so much better.

Recording my meals each day has brought awareness to  how often I was eating when I was not hungry, using food as a time filler.  The food log is posted in a forum with other people doing the Paleo Challenge, that is where I heard about Coconut Aminos for the first time. This can be used in recipes in place of soy sauce.

Below is a recipe someone shared on the forum. We had it for  dinner  Wednesday night. It was the first time I sautéed meat in Coconut oil. The meal was delicious and really filling.  I have also been scrambling eggs in Coconut oil.

So my suggestion when losing weight or improving how you eat, see if you can team up with people for support and accountability.

Cinnamon Beef Stew « Thread Started on Jan 20, 2012, 8:45pm » [Quote]


I know, you’re thinking cinnamon and beef? This week was all about jumping in with 2 feet for me, so I figured why not try this. This is awesome.
Ingredients 2-3 pounds stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes sea salt and black pepper 3 tbs coconut oil 1 medium carrot finely chopped 1 medium onion diced 1 medium celery stalk finely chopped 2 cloves garlic minced 2 tbs tomato paste 1/2 cup beef broth 2 tbs balsamic vinegar 3 cups water 2 bay leaves 1 spring or 1/2 tsp dried of rosemary, thyme, sage 2 cinnamon sticks
1. Season beef with salt and pepper. In large pot/Dutch oven head coconut oil and brown beef in batches, don’t over crowd the pan. remove meat once browned
2. In the same pot saute carrot, onion, celery and garlic for 2 min
3. Add tomato paste for 1 min
4. Add broth and vinegar and scrape all the pieces at the bottom of the pot
5. Place meat back in pot. Add 3 cups water, salt and pepper, bay leaves, thyme, sage, rosemary and cinnamon sticks
6. Bring to boil and reduce head. simmer for 90min or until meat tender. Not a soupy stew, but if drys out add beef broth/water

Leave a Reply

