Traveling Gluten Free

Ireland beautyTraveling was easier than I thought when it came to eating Gluten free.  I believe it was because I had made a decision years ago live without wheat or gluten.  Yes, there were temptations but only fleeting desires.  I was in Ireland for 8 days with family who all eat anything and everything.  The bread and desserts were plentiful.  I used to love Irish soda bread, now here it was in IRELAND.  I would go quickly from those thoughts to the stomach aches, weight gain and exhaustion that would come if I gave in and ate gluten/wheat and even sugar. 

Due to my commitment I had so much energy, felt great and enjoyed the food without the gluten, wheat or sugar. I was happily surprised to see gluten-free bread and desserts in many places. I did not indulge because they would set up cravings for me and did not want to go there.

My pattern in the past, and I say “in the past” has been when I return from traveling to indulge in sugar and gluten-free breads with lots of butter and peanut butter.  Not this time.  The desire was totally lifted, so cool.  I am still away from home, in NYC visiting family, but protecting myself by having foods in the house that do not trigger cravings in my system.  My blood sugar is balanced due to high protein, vegetable and small fruit intake.  I am also exercising everyday and speaking with positive, spiritual action oriented people.  I am blessed that my clients meet that criteria as well.

So, if you are going to travel, bring some healthy munchies and stay alert to  gluten/wheat free menu items, they are there.

I would love to hear about your travel experiences.

Remember, July 6th at 9pm EST to join us on our national conference call. The topic is “Controlling your weight through delicious nutrition on a gluten/wheat free diet.”

Leave a Reply

