Taking Gluten Free to the next step

It has taken me years to add variety to my gluten-free diet.  It’s been 5 years of living consistently gluten/wheat free.  I have not been very creative.  The first step for me was to stop eating the breads,  & pizza.  I used some of the basic substitutes like rice, millet or tapioca bread and frozen gluten-free pizza. I think I was in culture shock and tried to make it as easy as possible.  I still had dairy and sugar in my diet on and off.  I knew they too, made me feel achy, bloated and prevented me from losing weight.  When I gave those foods up  I would have no problem with weight loss, or having more energy, aches or bloating. 

I am now at a new level.  I love having lots of energy, being my ideal weight, and not being bloated.   What that means is I have been free of dairy, sugar, all grains and legumes now for 3 weeks.  Wow, what a difference.  The 10 pounds that felt like a sticky piece of gum that would not come off are vanishing, I have soooo much energy and my mind is really clear.

I went through my cabinets and filled them with products that met my criteria.  No foods with sugar (I never used the sugar substitutes), or dairy.  (The gluten/wheat foods had been cleared 5 years ago.) Salad dressings, marinades, spices, butter and milk were not longer to be eaten. I spent some time educating my family on the  reasons for and what we were going to include in our diets with my family.

I went to the library. The gym owner of Crossfit where I work out is very well versed in nutrition and extremely fit.  She had mentioned the “Paleo Diet” to me months ago but I was not ready to take the next step.

This is why I have been feeling so good. I have gone full throttle into the Paleo food plans.  I got a wonderful book the Paleo Diet by Loren Cordain,Ph.D It explains the philosophy of the diet, had food plans and lots of delicious recipes. Believe me if my kids like the food, it must be good. We are also all really full from our meals. Each meal has a meat protein, vegetable, fruit and fat. When I list the 4 components that means all in their healthiest forms. I also cooked on Sunday so we would have foods in the frig for the week. that way when someone in the house wants lunch the healthy choices are ready to be eaten.  I have always done that with fruits and vegetables but not with meats.  I made homemade pulled pork, homemade beef jerky, steamed broccoli, celery & Carrot stick, marinated chicken and lots of fruits. 

 I can see it now. whose coming over to munch?

Check out the links on the side. Gluten Free CONFERENCE CALL on Tuesday, June 1

Leave a Reply

